Hello world!

Thanks to WordPress.com I can clutter the world with my thoughts and musings. What a concept! Two things have prompted this new endeavor – a class and a job. “Technology in the Classroom” and 7th grade Geography have provided the motivation.

The other day was my last day as a teacher with no real past or future – in other words – a Substitute. I come in for a day and leave. Kids don’t know me; I don’t know them and if either drives the other crazy you know you won’t see them for long – kind of like the difference between characters in a great novel and a listing in a phonebook. Monday I started my first job as a full time teacher whose only chance at reprieve is the end of the year instead of the end of the day. Scary! It’s a blind date without the easy outs, but all the worry. What if they don’t like me? What if I don’t like them? What if they’re creepy?!?! I think (hope) that it will be something like the kids I met this past year – a mixed bag of strengths and hopes. It will be kinda scary until I get in there and find out for sure, but the teacher I’m replacing let me settle into the room for a couple of days before the Thanksgiving break and his complete exit. So fitting that the kids won’t have to go cold turkey!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Tom Degan Says:

    Good luck with your new job, friend. Next to parenthood it’s the most important one in the world. We’re wishing you well.

    All the best,

    Tom Degan

Leave a Reply

