Holden on to Sanity

Ass clowns for Larouche

“Yes, I have heard of the First Amendment” I answered to the two men at the Lyndon Larouche/ Obama as Hitler booth set up in front of our town post office. I was there to mail a letter and upon seeing their sign I had to ask what it was all about. I was asked to sign a petition, but I asked them if they thought their portrait of Obama as Hitler was over the top. I told them that I found it offensive to compare someone responsible for killing millions of my fellow humans to a political leader (and please, I’m using that term loosely) with whose policies they disagree. They told me it was their first amendment right to offend me and I didn’t disagree. What I did say is that it wasn’t their right to do it where they were standing, on a side walk in the town of Holden. And that is where my lesson started for today.

Holden has a sidewalk ordinance that clearly states that no political sign can be within two feet of a sidewalk. I called the police to see if they were aware of the booth and they said they had already been by and determined they were not blocking the sidewalk so they would allow it. OK, I guess this falls under police discretion and the police should be able to use their best judgement. I wrote one of the select board to bring it to their attention. Next I thought I would check out the legality of political actions on federal property (the post office) because a friend, accused of electioneering on federal property, was asked to stop by police. This was because she was talking to some folks about her candidacy for the select board in that town while in line .
Well, it turns out you can’t be for or against a particular candidate on federal property, but you can be for or against issues. The Larouche kool-aid drinkers (and pictured as the ass clowns they are) were collecting signatures on a petition to invoke the 25th amendment (article 4) to remove Obama because he is “incapacitated.” This is their “issue.” They don’t like Obama, they like Larouche (his name was on everything) but they talked anti-healthcare and impeachment so this skirts the federal rules on electioneering.
And that was my lesson – as much as I would like things to be simple, they are not. Issues are never black and white, which is why there has to be nuance (a much scorned term these days). I hate that the killer of millions is compared to an ineffectual president because it diminishes Hitler’s acts. And here is what else I learned – my fellow Holdenites are nobody’s fool, not one signature on their petition! Wheeee….
One Response to “Holden on to Sanity”

  1. Skull / Bones » Blog Archive » Top 5 Larouche News Stories of the Week and thereabouts Says:

    […] Dateline Holden:  Holden has a sidewalk ordinance that clearly states that no political sign can be within two feet of a sidewalk. I called the police to see if they were aware of the booth and they said they had already been by and determined they were not blocking the sidewalk so they would allow it. OK, I guess this falls under police discretion and the police should be able to use their best judgement. I wrote one of the select board to bring it to their attention. Next I thought I would check out the legality of political actions on federal property (the post office) because a friend, accused of electioneering on federal property, was asked to stop by police. This was because she was to some folks while in line about her candidacy for the select board in that town. Well, it turns out you can’t be for or against a particular candidate on federal property, but you can be for or against issues. The Larouche kool-aid drinkers (and pictured as the ass clowns they are) were collecting signatures on a petition to invoke the 25th amendment (article 4) to remove Obama because he is “incapacitated.” This is their “issue.” They don’t like Obama, they like Larouche (his name was on everything) but they talked anti-healthcare and impeachment so this skirts the federal rules on electioneering. […]

Leave a Reply

